Amazon Reviews in Denver, CO | Glassdoor

Amazon Denver Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great for Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ICQA Data Analyst in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    high visibility 80% of job time is discretionary projects only tier 3 office job at the FC advancement opportunities

    Cons

    some tedious work too many report and different tools

    Advice to Management

    simplify and consolidate reporting

    Amazon2019-06-26
  2. "Challenging and Fast Paced Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Engagement Coordinator in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company and benefits! So many opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Work Life Balance can be challenging.

    Amazon2019-08-29
  3. "Not Family Friend or Flexible Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, atmosphere, and technology.

    Cons

    Hours are not flexible enough for families or graduate students. HR has avoidance behaviors (no face to face).

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the hole and introduce yourself to new hires! Get to know your people.

    Amazon2019-08-11
  4. "Meh for a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TOM Team in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great for young people, decent health benefits.

    Cons

    lip service for most things, hard to move up, dont carter to age or disabilities very well at all.

    Advice to Management

    make more buildings handicap friendly/accessible.

    Amazon2019-07-03
  5. "Excellent organization for customers and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training opportunities along with organizational priorities make the job not only clear, but I am given the tools to do it. Working in a high pace challenging environment is great for employees and our customers.

    Cons

    Startup mentality and tooling in a large company make some days challenging, trying to find the right tool or team, and learning to ignore outdated information can be difficult at times.

    Amazon2019-06-17
  6. "40 hrs not easy to get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Associate (Seasonal) in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very relaxed environment, pleasant co-workers. management has been helpful in all situations.....even though you may have to remind them a few times. Growth has been rapid and managers appear to be stretched thin therefore some requests/needs can fall through the cracks.

    Cons

    They will tell you there will be no problem getting hours, and extra hours, but that just isn't the case. Continued over-hiring of drivers has led to shorter routes and fewer hours. Even if you have enough packages to deliver within your 10hr day, they will send one, sometimes more, drivers that are finished with their route to pick up some of your packages to deliver, in turn shortening your day/hours. This will... only increase turnover. "seasonal" drivers are considered TEMPORARY positions currently and could be eliminated.....otherwise why wouldn't they make them full-time/perm positions. As a seasonal driver associate you don't have the same access or perks as a full "blue-badged" Amazon employee. For example, a full Amazon employee has an inside track to other positions within the company but despite a seasonal driver understanding the system by working there they don't get the benefit of that inside track.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow the same access/benefits to "seasonal" drivers. There are talented professionals that are driving currently in order to get their foot in the door, and we were all told that there is room for advancement in our interviews, but we have quickly found out that being labeled a "seasonal" driver also means "roadblock" and little opportunity for advancement.

    Amazon2019-06-12
  7. "Stower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -No interviews to get hired -No customer interaction -Fairly simple job duties

    Cons

    -Job requires doing the same 1 action for 10 hours. -Pretty ridiculous rate expectations (430 per hour) -Very little co-worker interaction

    Amazon2019-06-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management experience & career growth

    Cons

    Work life balance & always on your feet

    Amazon2019-04-09
  9. "Liked it so much, I came back!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am a "boomerang" employee. Had to leave for personal reasons but missed working at Amazon, so I finally go the opportunity to return and jumped at it. Always something new going on. The learning never stops. and the people are amazingly smart. Customer obsession is the focus, but there seems to be more appreciation for employees since I left the first time. Opportunities are everywhere at Amazon if you take... initiative.

    Show More

    Cons

    You must be comfortable with constant change and ambiguity. If you get frustrated with change and just wish that things would settle for a while, this will not be a good place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Some VPs get a God complex, so keep humble and live the core principles. That's what makes Amazon great!

    Amazon2019-04-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -A lot of smart people -Every day you are presented with a different problem to pull apart; depending on how you see things it can be a positive or a negative -You will learn a lot from the people around you -You will have the opportunity to lead large teams and learn how to drive performance through those teams -Benefits are great

    Cons

    -Diversity is a huge miss: Female leaders in Sr roles are practically non-existent and minorities are severely under-represented in those same roles; I would include diversity of thought as well -Not a ton of investment in developing leaders -You will miss the holidays with your family pretty much every year -The culture can sometimes make you feel like you're expendable: there is always someone right behind you... that will do the job regardless of experience

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leaders need help establishing a development pipeline to retain talent and make them better.

    Amazon2019-01-23
Found 37 reviews