Wells Fargo Engineering Reviews | Glassdoor

Wells Fargo Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 241 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Wells Fargo CEO Allen Parker
Allen Parker
17 Ratings
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Engineer 

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and technologies

    Cons

    Nothing i can think of

    Wells Fargo2019-08-26
  2. "Average Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Software Engineer in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice facilities

    Cons

    Disorganized lots of email that had to be answered immediately so much email and meetings it was hard to get things done

    Advice to Management

    Change your culture less email and meetings create more productive time

    Wells Fargo2019-09-11
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Information Security Engineer 

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Great people to work with

    Cons

    Less career opportunities (partly due to current market situation)

    Wells Fargo2019-08-20
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Software Development Engineer 

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge platforms to work with.

    Cons

    sometimes slow decision making process

    Wells Fargo2019-08-18
  5. "Great for folks that just want a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good, especially for what they expect of you.

    Cons

    No culture, planning, organization, or passion at this company.

    Wells Fargo2019-09-21
  6. "Plus and Minus, You choose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good bonus, 7% 401k match and 50 stocks

    Cons

    People are not promoted on skills and felt stagnant

    Wells Fargo2019-08-25
  7. "Dealing with HR is a nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The technical day to day work was very good

    Cons

    When you needed something from HR it was a frustrating, painful experience. They don't understand someone who does not speak English with an American accent. They don't ever solve your problem, just plead "it is impossible to say"

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to actually solve an employee's problem rather than HR employees making excuses and give you the brush-off.

    Wells Fargo2019-08-16
  8. "Awesome Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Network Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to new technologies and scope to improve skillsets. Great worklife balance

    Cons

    Nothing that i can think of

    Wells Fargo2019-07-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications SYSTEMS ENGINEER 

    I have been working at Wells Fargo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved the people on the team I worked with, and most of the customers we supported. Some very good people work here. Compensation is fair.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, constant re-organization, restriction of access/tools without corresponding restriction of responsibilities, lip service regard for personal well-being and time management, little attention paid to advice/recommendations, unrealistic work loads with irrelevant timelines, excessive and superfluous fixation on corporate training unrelated to job function. Changed managers 4 times in 6 years.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people that actually have to do the work associated with the initiatives/projects you decide on. Better communication at C- or D- level when proposing initiatives to avoid conflicts of timelines. Live your stated values and realize when culture doesnt coincide.

    Wells Fargo2019-08-07
  10. "Joined a bad group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - QA Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wells Fargo for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment, you really don't need to try very hard and you won't get fired. Especially if you are a full time employee, you can kind of coast till your retirement

    Cons

    The lack of snacks of stuff. Not very good pay for tech side of the business. Very little inter-team communication. Very little team bonding

    Advice to Management

    Pay people a bit better, and give us some free fruit once in a while

    Wells Fargo2019-08-06
Found 241 reviews